Notes from December 10, 2016 meeting


HADS OFFICERS

Co-Chairs – Bill Wurster
(518) 786-3105 and
Cindi Jones (518) 598-3366
wursterw@verizon.net
cindi.jones58@gmail.com

Secretary – vacant

Treasurer – Carol Volungus
(518) 383-0447
daylilly@juno.com

Committee Chairs
Programs – Speakers

Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Historian – vacant

Newsletter Editor
Stephanie Kronau
skronau@nycap.rr.com

Hospitality – Barbara Sander
and Don Constantino
bsander@nycap.rr.com

Sunshine – Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Babysitter Plants – Frank Almquist
falmquist@hvc.rr.com
and Sharon Gallucci
smgallucci@msn.com

Display Garden
Pat & Don Salhoff
psalhoff@verizon.nett

Website – Janet Spychalski
Janet.Spychalski@its.ny.gov

Photographer – Cindi Jones
cindi.jones58@gmail.com

Membership – Carol Volungus
daylilly@juno.com
4 Applewood Dr.,
Rexford. NY 12148

Publicity – Cathy Fruhauf
cathyfruhauf@hotmail.com

Daylilies on facing page:
AHS Mildred Schlumpf Award:
John Stahl – ‘Purple Tarantula’
(Gossard, 2011)
Louise Taylor – ‘Velvet Throne’
(Petit, 2009)

volunteers for Albany County to answer gardening questions, test soil for pH, talk to local garden groups, outreach to urban gardeners and school garden clubs, plant rain gardens to capture storm water run-off, and to help with historic garden preservation at local historic sites.

Notes from the Meeting of
December 10, 2016

Bill opened the meeting with a moment of silence to remember Grace Hilt-Mack.

pink-flower

Treasurer’s Report: Carol reported we have $7,400 in the checking account and $6,150 in a money market.

Sunshine Report: Debi sent flowers and a Mass Card in honor of Grace.

Hospital Report: Barbara and Don purchased new coffee makers, which work great!

red-flower

The budget will be presented in January – committees need to let Bill know if they need more money. Pat and Don reported that the Display Garden needs work and refreshing. Some plants were lost to the drought of last summer. We still need a person to weed regularly.

Hybridizers generally update their websites in January with the plants that are available in the new year. The committees for babysitters and