Winter Doldrums Gathering


HADS OFFICERS

Co-Chairs
Debi Chowdhury –
debichowdhury@yahoo.com
and Michelle Young
youngs@socialscience.net

Secretary – Kathryn Mohr
kemohrke@aol.com

Treasurer – Carol Volungus
(518) 383-0447
daylilly@juno.com

Committee Chairs
Programs – Speakers

Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com
and Diane Steel
yankeeflora@gmail.com

Historian – vacant

Newsletter Editor
Stephanie Kronau
skronau@nycap.rr.com

Hospitality – Barbara Sander
and Don Constantino
bsander@nycap.rr.com

Sunshine – Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Babysitter Plants
Frank Almquist
falmquist@hvc.rr.com
and Sharon Gallucci
smgallucci@msn.com

Display Garden
Pat & Don Salhoff
psalhoff@verizon.net

Website – Janet Spychalski
Janet.Spychalski@its.ny.gov

Photographer – Cindi Jones
cindijones58@gmail.com

Membership – Carol Volungus
daylilly@juno.com
4 Applewood Dr.,
Rexford. NY 12148

Publicity – Cathy Fruhauf
cathyfruhauf@hotmail.com
and Diane Steel
yankeeflora@gmail.com

Scholarship Chair
Cindy Jennings
CindyJenningsNY@aol.com

Daylilies in the article are:
Tracker Jacker by
Mike Holmes, 2017
and Velvet Throne
by Petit, 2009

The Annual Doldrums Gathering is a joint celebration held for over 20 yrs. now with the Upstate NY Hosta Society, the Capital Hudson Iris Society and the Hudson Adirondack Daylily Society. We are gathering on Sunday, February 16th, 11:30 am at the Cornell Cooperative Extension of Albany County offices, 24 Martin Road in Voorheesville.

Anyone who would like to help set up should arrive about 10:30 am. Everyone is encouraged to bring a dish to share for the luncheon as well as contributions for the Door Prize table and a friend who would enjoy the talk, food and camaraderie. The Upstate New York Hosta Society is the host this year and they will supply the beverages, paper goods and the guest speaker.

This is an annual potluck luncheon with a really special guest speaker. Matthew Benson’s lecture titled THE PHOTOGRAPHIC GARDEN is a comprehensive visual learning experience for garden, landscape, and still life photographers. You’ll learn how to explore the garden with your camera; how to apply the fundamentals of composition, light and color to image-making and how to use digital technology to improve and enhance images you’ve taken. Most of all, you’ll be motivated to see like a camera, work like a professional, and imagine and create like an artist. More in February’s newsletter…stay tuned…