A Look Forward to The April Meeting



HADS OFFICERS

Co-Chairs – Bill Wurster
(518) 786-3105 and
Cindi Jones (518) 598-3366
wursterw@verizon.net
cindijones58@gmail.com

Secretary – vacant

Treasurer – Carol Volungus
(518) 383-0447
daylilly@juno.com

Committee Chairs
Programs – Speakers

Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Historian – vacant

Newsletter Editor
Stephanie Kronau
skronau@nycap.rr.com

Hospitality – Barbara Sander
and Don Constantino
bsander@nycap.rr.com

Sunshine – Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Babysitter Plants
Frank Almquist
falmquist@hvc.rr.com
and Sharon Gallucci
smgallucci@msn.com

Display Garden
Pat & Don Salhoff
psalhoff@verizon.net

Website – Janet Spychalski
Janet.Spychalski@its.ny.gov

Photographer – Cindi Jones
cindijones58@gmail.com

Membership – Carol Volungus
daylilly@juno.com
4 Applewood Dr.,
Rexford. NY 12148

Publicity – Cathy Fruhauf
cathyfruhauf@hotmail.com

Daylilies in the Article are:
Deliverer by Emmerich, 2007 and
Tahoe Snow Blizzard by Gossard, 2006
Many Thanks to Betsy Thompson for the pictures used in the newsletter. Thanks so much, Betsy!!

A Look Forward To The April Meeting

Our meeting in April will be held on April 20th at 10 am at the Cooperative Extension offices on Martin Rd. in Voorheesville, NY.

Our speaker will be Kathy Purdy who will talk about Colchicums: Autumn’s Best-Kept Secret – Colchi-what? If you’ve never heard of colchicums before, you’ll be running to your catalogs to order some after hearing Kathy’s talk. These underused hardy bulbs bring bright color to the fall garden. Kathy will tell you everything you need to know to grow them successfully, including the best varieties for various garden situations and ideal plants to partner with them. She’ll even let you know her sources for the rarest and scarcest. If you don’t yet grow colchicums, it’s time you were in on the secret!

An award-winning garden blogger and writer, published in regional and national magazines, Kathy Purdy has grown colchicums for over twenty years. Charmed by these unusual corms, she became a colchicum evangelist, converting unsuspecting gardeners into confirmed colchicophiles. Kathy wrote the definitive article on colchicums for The American Gardener magazine in 2007. She currently grows over fifty varieties in her Chenango County garden.