cont. Update on Your Babysitter Plants



HADS OFFICERS

Co-Chairs – Bill Wurster
(518) 786-3105 and
Cindi Jones (518) 598-3366
wursterw@verizon.net
cindijones58@gmail.com

Secretary – vacant

Treasurer – Carol Volungus
(518) 383-0447
daylilly@juno.com

Committee Chairs
Programs – Speakers

Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Historian – vacant

Newsletter Editor
Stephanie Kronau
skronau@nycap.rr.com

Hospitality – Barbara Sander
and Don Constantino
bsander@nycap.rr.com

Sunshine – Debi Chowdhury
debichowdhury@yahoo.com

Babysitter Plants
Frank Almquist
falmquist@hvc.rr.com
and Sharon Gallucci
smgallucci@msn.com

Display Garden
Pat & Don Salhoff
psalhoff@verizon.net

Website – Janet Spychalski
Janet.Spychalski@its.ny.gov

Photographer – Cindi Jones
cindijones58@gmail.com

Membership – Carol Volungus
daylilly@juno.com
4 Applewood Dr.,
Rexford. NY 12148

Publicity – Cathy Fruhauf
cathyfruhauf@hotmail.com

Daylilies in the article are:
Shelby by Margo Reed, 2010
and Vincent and Theo by
C.M. Barnes, 2004

If your Babysitter has a sufficient number of fans, Frank or Sharon will ask you to bring it in for the Members’ Auction on May 12th.

It will then be divided for sale in the auction. You will receive a fan to return to your garden as a ‘thank you’ for taking such good care of the plant while it was growing. Whether or not your plant comes back for auction, it’s important to let Frank or Sharon know how many fans the plant has this year. Frank and Sharon keep track of the plants each year to determine their ‘garden worthiness’ and whether the plants are doing well in our climate. If they pout and refuse to grow year after year, it may be that the plant needs a warmer zone and will be given to a Region 4 society further south. In any case, please remember to update Frank and Sharon on the progress of your babysitters each year.

Update on the Members’ Auction

The Members’ Auction is only a month away but plans are already coming together to acquire interesting daylilies to entice our members. We will have some plants from Bill Waldrop, who spoke at our Doldrums party and others from Melanie Mason and other hybridizers. Many of our daylily enthusiasts buy more expensive daylilies to enjoy in their gardens. Over time the plants grow and people would like to share them, but find that the plants are just too special to sell for $10 or $15 in our annual sale at Faddegon’s.